Denmark Facts
Facts about Denmark - From CIA World Factbook - Danish Culture and Language Abroad
Dansk OSS - A FAQ in Danish for Danes living abroad.
Guide to the official Denmark (in Danish)
Information about Denmark from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Description Kingdom
In Northern Europe between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea, the Scandinavian peninsula and Germany. Denmark consists of the peninsula Jutland (Jylland) and more than 400 islands. The biggest islands are Zealand (Sjælland), Fuenen (Fyn), Lolland, Falster, Bornholm, Langeland, Mors and Als.

The Faroe Islands (Færøerne) with autonomous rule and Greenland (Grønland) with home rule are parts of the Danish Kingdom.

Denmark is a member of UN, NATO and the European Union (EU).

Denmark covers 43.092 square kilometers. 75% of the area is arable land. 10% forests. 5% moors, lakes etc. and 10% roads, railroads, houses etc.

In Juli 2001 there were 5,352,815 citizens in Denmark. 7% of the workforce is occupied with agriculture, fishing, gardening. 30% is in the industrial sector and 63% in the service sector.

All of Denmark is lowland. The surface is shaped by glaciers and glacial streams.

The Islands and Eastern Jutland is typical hilly moraine country which especially in Jutland is traversed by deep valleys forming the Jutland Inlets. Northern Jutland is moraine country covered with wide plains of raised sea bed. The moor plains of Western Jutland are formed by the glacial streams.

Denmark has a temperate coastal climate which is influenced by the location near the Atlantic Ocean. The wind is most often coming from SW, W and NW. The winters are mild and the summers relatively cold. It rains in average 50 cm/year in the areas near the Great Belt and almost 100 cm/year in the highest parts of Jutland. The springtime is usually dry while it often rains in the late summer and the autumn.

Various Information

Area: 43.092 km^2
Population: 5,352,815 (Juli. 2001 est.)
Capital: Copenhagen (København)
Language: Danish
Currency: 1 krone = 100 øre (7,4 kroner ~ 1 dollar)
Constitution: Constitutional Monarchy
Parliament: Folketinget with 179 members (of which two are from the Faroe Islands and two are from Greenland). Direct elections to the parliament every fourth year.
Chief of State: Queen Margrethe 2. (since 1972)
Prime Minister: Helle Thorning-Schmidt (Social Democrats)
Religion: Evangelical Lutheran